I had formerly been using Winamp as my Desktop player at work and it always handled everything. But Winamp is now been dead for a while and even with underground copies it does not handle 4k monitors very well.

Roon, Tidal etc. can't touch some of the files I wish to play that play perfectly on my Home Theater with Logitech Music Server. I want to use the same exact library at work.

I spent hours on JRiver, MusicBee, MediaMonkey and they all came up short.

Foobar2000 handles all formats correctly. Even though not as pretty and slick as some newer players.

I wrote a README for myself to Setup and Use, here it is.

I want play

2 Channel PCM FLAC
DTS Multichannel Embedded FLAC
AC3 Multichannel Embedded FLAC
DSD Pass-through to DSD capable DAC

Install foobar2000
>> Choose Album List + Properties
>> Choose Grey Orange
>> Choose Default Playlist

I HATE playlists. I think they push you into a corner and I like exposing myself to my whole library because my taste is always changing and evolving. Songs I hated years ago I love, and ones I used love I now hate. And I'd be chasing my tail with playlists.

Install foo_ac3 (works for AC3 embbeded in FLAC or AC3 files I think)
Install foo_input_dts (works for DTS embedded in FLAC or DTS files I think)
Install foo_input_sacd (Only installed to get file mappings, not used if DAC supports SACD)
Install foo_out_asio

Start Foobar2000

Setup DSD external DAC
>> Under File -> Preferences -> Components -> Playback -> Output
>> Expand Output and set Device to DSD : ASIO : ASIO Chord
>> Under File -> Preferences -> Tools -> SACD -> Output Mode -> DSD (Meridian Set PCM, Sample Rate to 96Khz)

Setup Mix Down (only needed for AC3 Multichannel)
>> File -> Preferences -> Playback -> DSP Manager
>> Add "Downmix channels to Stereo"

Add Library Folders.
>> Library -> Configure -> Add Folder
>> If Folder is already there try removing and adding again.

In Playback Menu
>> Select Cursor Follows Playback

To Play
>> Drag what ever you want from the Main Left Panel to the Play List (including the root node)
>>>> You can also right click Enque Current
>> In Playback Menu (optionally) choose Random

To switch to Album or artist Playing
>> Click start of Album in Playlist View to Play that Album and Disable Random.
>> Or Search for Arist or Album with Filter on Main Window and then Drag that Over to Play Lists. This was nice in WinAmp because I could right click on current Track for that.

To Wipe Playlist
>> Click in Playlist and hit CTRL-A then CTRL-X.

Last edited by Fiddler; 2017-02-22 20:37.

- Fiddler (IMHO)

If you think listening to music is fun, try learning an instrument.
HT: G61RSL, 4x5K, 5.5KHC, 2xSC6000, Transporter, HD621, Philips BDP7501 4K, Tivo, 65" LG OLED 4K C6
Computer: Foobar2000, 5K, Mojo, HiFiMan HE1000 V2