Google Search  |  Meridian Systems  |  Meridian Streaming  |  Restaurant  |  WiKi  |  Duncan's Meridian Info  |  Board Rules  |  Restaurant Rules
Page 5 of 5 < 1 2 3 4 5
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#279552 - 2018-10-12 13:16 Re: M6 - Media Core or Audio Core? [Re: 3dit0r]
Registered: 2003-10-04
Posts: 2,109
spinaltap Online content
Senior Shouting Officer
spinaltap Online content
Senior Shouting Officer

Registered: 2003-10-04
Posts: 2,109
Loc: Bournville, UK
The M6 'At a Glance' sheet states..
Quote:
Features Meridian’s unique Enhanced Bass Alignment (EBA) technology - bass, mid and treble all reach you at the same time, in perfect alignment...

Enhanced Boundary Control - eliminates bass boom.

The 218 User Guide is more specific on EBC compared to that of the AC200...
Quote:
Enhanced Boundary Control: Compensates for reflective room surfaces. Choose between Off (unreflective), Min, Med, or Max (highly reflective).

Room height: Used for Enhanced Boundary Control calculations in loudspeakers with downward-firing drive units, such as the M6 or DSW, to compensate for reflections with the room ceiling. Can be varied between 150cm (58in) and 400cm (158in) in steps of 5cm (2in).


My Mac can go all the way to XI - Mac user since 1988.
Meridian owner since 1993 - M6, 218, Squeezebox Touch, ReadyNAS, Mac Mini Server
Top
#279553 - 2018-10-12 14:08 Re: M6 - Media Core or Audio Core? [Re: spinaltap]
Registered: 2012-04-17
Posts: 1,951
3dit0r Offline
Knows where his towel is
3dit0r Offline
Knows where his towel is

Registered: 2012-04-17
Posts: 1,951
Loc: South UK
Yes, my bad, as I didn't realise M6 were EBA compatible.

EBC does come into play with them, as they have downward firing woofers, so the height measurement of the room must be input.

My question was whether the AC200 has an EBC setup option as I couldn't see it on the data sheet and the manual is superbly undetailed. If not, can one input this direct to the M6s during speaker config? Uncertain how this would be accomplished if the controller doesn't allow it, as the speakers have no display...


818v3, DSP7200.2, Oppo BDP-105, Sony VPL-HW55ES projector, Kimber Mains Cables, Russ Andrews Torlyte Equipment Rack and Mains Filtration, GIK Acoustics Room Treatments
Top
#279556 - 2018-10-12 15:15 Re: M6 - Media Core or Audio Core? [Re: spinaltap]
Registered: 2011-02-02
Posts: 2,285
Hector Offline
Senior Shouting Officer
Hector Offline
Senior Shouting Officer

Registered: 2011-02-02
Posts: 2,285
Loc: Midlands, UK
Originally Posted By spinaltap
I’ve received a response from Meridian on if used AC200 displays can be repaired.

Yes, they can due to their modular design.

However, the AC200 was upgraded in April 2018 with an improved display.

So, ensure you buy an AC200 built since April.
Thanks Spinaltap

Very interesting, My AC200 suffers from missing lines. I was quoted 150 pounds to fix it (replace display).

If what you say is correct, it is tantamount to Meridian admitting, that the original display was not fit for purpose.

I wonder if the same applies to display on M80 even though this is no longer in production.

Hector


AV: Thorens TD160B, SME, ShureV15MK2, 500, 598, 861v4, DSP7200.1LR, DSP3300HC Samsung UE55, SkyHD.
DINING: MS600, AC200, DSP5200SLLR.
STUDY 504, SB Touch, 2x MD600, C15, 808.6, 5200SE, Mac & PC, Explorer v1, Prime+PS Grado GS1000i
HORIZONTAL: M80, MS200, Red Rose Spirit + Sonus Faber Toys
A capella to Zydeco
Top
#279558 - 2018-10-12 16:31 Re: M6 - Media Core or Audio Core? [Re: 3dit0r]
Registered: 2003-10-04
Posts: 2,109
spinaltap Online content
Senior Shouting Officer
spinaltap Online content
Senior Shouting Officer

Registered: 2003-10-04
Posts: 2,109
Loc: Bournville, UK
Originally Posted By 3dit0r
My question was whether the AC200 has an EBC setup option as I couldn't see it on the data sheet and the manual is superbly undetailed.

The problem lies in the user guide’s published date (2010). Comparatively, the M6 user guide’s published date states 2012-2017, indicating that it was rewritten/updated.

Given that the AC200 was updated in April, 2018 you would think that Meridian would have similarly consolidated/rewritten the user guide... Who am I kidding... whistle


My Mac can go all the way to XI - Mac user since 1988.
Meridian owner since 1993 - M6, 218, Squeezebox Touch, ReadyNAS, Mac Mini Server
Top
#279579 - 2018-10-13 16:38 Re: M6 - Media Core or Audio Core? [Re: spinaltap]
Registered: 2010-02-12
Posts: 1,777
AudioImages - Rick Offline
Meridian Partner Knows where his towel is
AudioImages - Rick Offline
Meridian Partner
Knows where his towel is

Registered: 2010-02-12
Posts: 1,777
Loc: Sheffield, England
AC200 does have EBC control for the M6, in fact I think it was the first product to offer an EBC setting.
However this feature was introduced in a firmware revision, so the early AC200 would have to be firmware upgraded.

Rick


Audio Images, 284 Glossop Road, Sheffield, England. Tel: 0114 273 7893
Website: www.audio-images.co.uk Email: Click here to email Rick
Twitter: Audio Images
Top
Page 5 of 5 < 1 2 3 4 5

Moderator:  Carl, Duncs, ncpl 
Who's Online
8 registered (Cliff., swpnt, Carl, Jon Raines, JohnMcElfresh, ChrisLayerUK), 47 Guests and 4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newest Members
HoraceG, YelllowHound, JezW, PaulB, Padmakumar
4703 Registered Users
Top Posters (30 Days)
ChrisLayerUK 59
CMB Integrations - Bruce 47
JamieB 24
Gwho 24
Mr Meridian 22
Top Posters
VirusKiller 12417
Fiddler 8667
ncpl 8473
Carl 7799
Ian 7582
Forum Stats
4,703 Registered Members
18 Forums
25,668 Topics
258,807 Posts

Most users ever online: 211 @ 2015-05-05 14:40
Meridian  |  Media Centre  |  Support  |  Firmware Release Notes  |  RSS Systems  |  RSS Streaming  |  RSS Restaurant