Google Search  |  Meridian Systems  |  Meridian Streaming  |  Restaurant  |  WiKi  |  Duncan's Meridian Info  |  Board Rules  |  Restaurant Rules
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#277838 - 2018-07-09 21:55 UHD722 Needs to Transcode Dolby Digital +
Registered: 2018-04-15
Posts: 6
JimO Offline
Harmless
JimO Offline
Harmless

Registered: 2018-04-15
Posts: 6
Loc: Kirkland, Washington, USA
I wrote to Meridian Audio this week asking them if they could consider adding transcoding of Dolby Digital Plus (E-AC3) to normal Dolby Digital (AC3). I looked at Dolby's website and it seems like this could be possible.
Originally Posted By Dolby says
Is Dolby Digital Plus content backward-compatible?

Because Dolby Digital Plus is built on core Dolby Digital technologies, content that is encoded with Dolby Digital Plus is fully compatible with the millions of existing home theaters and playback systems worldwide equipped for Dolby Digital playback.

Dolby Digital Plus soundtracks are easily converted to a 640 kbps Dolby Digital signal without decoding and reencoding, for output via S/PDIF. The 640 kbps bit rate, which is higher than the standard 448 kbps used on DVDs, is fully compatible with all existing Dolby Digital decoding products such as A/V receivers, and can provide higher-than-DVD quality from Dolby Digital Plus soundtracks when played back through existing systems.
The new world of Streaming boxes is all over the place with transcoding Dolby Digital +. Some do it like Amazon Fire TV and others do not like Nvidia Sheild. The Netflix App is only outputting Dolby Digital Plus as a more efficient encoding scheme for streaming. If your box does not transcode Dolby Digital Plus your out of luck getting surround sound. Dolby makes it sound like an easy transformation.

I am hoping Meridian could possibly do transcoding in the UHD722 so I sent them a request. Maybe other Meridian fans could do so too.

Top
#277851 - 2018-07-10 11:11 Re: UHD722 Needs to Transcode Dolby Digital + [Re: JimO]
Registered: 2009-11-10
Posts: 1,442
CMB Integrations - Bruce Offline
Meridian Partner Working on the ultimate question
CMB Integrations - Bruce Offline
Meridian Partner
Working on the ultimate question

Registered: 2009-11-10
Posts: 1,442
Loc: Lexington, South Carolina, USA
It doesn't have the hardware to transcode or decode. It is an audio extractor and 4k HDMI switch.


www.cmbintegrations.com

Personal System #1 Trinnov Altitude 32-8-16, 818v3, DSP8000.2SE, DSP7200SEHC, Revel F228be, Revel B112, Monitor Audio Silver 10, ATI 200WX5 Amp, JVC RS15, Shunyata Denali 6000S, Alpha power cables, Black Diamond Zero Edge screen. QNAP TS-251 3TB
Mark Levinson No515 Turntable

Top
#277864 - 2018-07-10 18:06 Re: UHD722 Needs to Transcode Dolby Digital + [Re: CMB Integrations - Bruce]
Registered: 2018-04-15
Posts: 6
JimO Offline
Harmless
JimO Offline
Harmless

Registered: 2018-04-15
Posts: 6
Loc: Kirkland, Washington, USA
I understand the basics of audio extraction but I would be inclined to think it would be possible to extract the AC3 aspect in software from the stream especially when Dolby says "Dolby Digital Plus soundtracks are easily converted to a 640 kbps Dolby Digital signal without decoding and reencoding".

Top
#277866 - 2018-07-10 18:29 Re: UHD722 Needs to Transcode Dolby Digital + [Re: JimO]
Registered: 2009-11-10
Posts: 1,442
CMB Integrations - Bruce Offline
Meridian Partner Working on the ultimate question
CMB Integrations - Bruce Offline
Meridian Partner
Working on the ultimate question

Registered: 2009-11-10
Posts: 1,442
Loc: Lexington, South Carolina, USA
Sure it is possible to do it in software, but the hardware to do so does not exist within the UHD722.


www.cmbintegrations.com

Personal System #1 Trinnov Altitude 32-8-16, 818v3, DSP8000.2SE, DSP7200SEHC, Revel F228be, Revel B112, Monitor Audio Silver 10, ATI 200WX5 Amp, JVC RS15, Shunyata Denali 6000S, Alpha power cables, Black Diamond Zero Edge screen. QNAP TS-251 3TB
Mark Levinson No515 Turntable

Top
#277868 - 2018-07-10 19:31 Re: UHD722 Needs to Transcode Dolby Digital + [Re: CMB Integrations - Bruce]
Registered: 2012-04-17
Posts: 1,904
3dit0r Offline
Knows where his towel is
3dit0r Offline
Knows where his towel is

Registered: 2012-04-17
Posts: 1,904
Loc: South UK
So, in a Meridian surround setup, how does one decode audio from sources which aren’t able to decode it before it is sent out to the HD621/UHD722?


818v3, DSP7200.2, Oppo BDP-105, Sony VPL-HW55ES projector, Kimber Mains Cables, Russ Andrews Torlyte Equipment Rack and Mains Filtration, GIK Acoustics Room Treatments
Top
#277869 - 2018-07-10 19:49 Re: UHD722 Needs to Transcode Dolby Digital + [Re: 3dit0r]
Registered: 2011-08-14
Posts: 5
Jocke Offline
Harmless
Jocke Offline
Harmless

Registered: 2011-08-14
Posts: 5
Loc: Kungsbacka, Sweden
If I understand it correctly any Dolby Digital capable decoder (such as G65/G68/861 etc.) will automatically extract a Dolby Digital stream from a Dolby Digital Plus stream. Maximum number of channels is 5.1 (all this according to Dolby). I have never had an issue with this.

The UHD722 will just pass the bitstream on to the processor to do perform decoding. Having said that I couldn’t say if my sources (such as Apple TV) are performing any transcoding.

I would suspect it the source is set to output multichannel PCM to the UHD722 this unit will handle it in the same way (if it does not have DD Plus decoder).


5200SE, 5200HC SE, G65, HD621
Top
#277874 - 2018-07-10 21:20 Re: UHD722 Needs to Transcode Dolby Digital + [Re: Jocke]
Registered: 2009-11-10
Posts: 1,442
CMB Integrations - Bruce Offline
Meridian Partner Working on the ultimate question
CMB Integrations - Bruce Offline
Meridian Partner
Working on the ultimate question

Registered: 2009-11-10
Posts: 1,442
Loc: Lexington, South Carolina, USA
It does not. So you are pretty much relegated to whatever the connected device can put out via PCM/LPCM.


www.cmbintegrations.com

Personal System #1 Trinnov Altitude 32-8-16, 818v3, DSP8000.2SE, DSP7200SEHC, Revel F228be, Revel B112, Monitor Audio Silver 10, ATI 200WX5 Amp, JVC RS15, Shunyata Denali 6000S, Alpha power cables, Black Diamond Zero Edge screen. QNAP TS-251 3TB
Mark Levinson No515 Turntable

Top
#277880 - 2018-07-11 10:47 Re: UHD722 Needs to Transcode Dolby Digital + [Re: CMB Integrations - Bruce]
Registered: 2011-08-14
Posts: 5
Jocke Offline
Harmless
Jocke Offline
Harmless

Registered: 2011-08-14
Posts: 5
Loc: Kungsbacka, Sweden
Exactly. When running LPCM the output device will determine (sorry if I was unclear). But once again, have not had any issue with components I’ve tried not being able to do this.

Setting the output to bitstream should let the G65 etc. extract DD 5.1. Not ideal on all sources of course.


5200SE, 5200HC SE, G65, HD621
Top
#277881 - 2018-07-11 11:28 Re: UHD722 Needs to Transcode Dolby Digital + [Re: CMB Integrations - Bruce]
Registered: 2005-05-21
Posts: 334
DonRon Offline
Hitchhiker
DonRon Offline
Hitchhiker

Registered: 2005-05-21
Posts: 334
Loc: Tilburg, Netherlands
Originally Posted By CMB Integrations - Bruce
It does not. So you are pretty much relegated to whatever the connected device can put out via PCM/LPCM.
It also doesn’t make sense for it to only do transcoding. You’d want to change channel levels, delays, other types of bitstreams like DTS or Atmos. So a surround processor in the end...

Top
#277882 - 2018-07-11 14:58 Re: UHD722 Needs to Transcode Dolby Digital + [Re: DonRon]
Registered: 2004-08-07
Posts: 7,522
Ian Online content
President of the Imperial Galactic Government
Ian Online content
President of the Imperial Galactic Government

Registered: 2004-08-07
Posts: 7,522
Loc: Surrey, England, UK
I still wonder what the real story was with the HD621 and its ability to decode bitstream? Just prior to the HD621 launch, it was said on several occasions that it could do what everyone would have found useful (decode bitstream to PCM) these days, including from reliable source like Stacey Spears who no doubt would have got his information direct from Meridian as was his God like status.

Shame really, that would have been a killer feature but suspect that CODEC licensing may have had more to do with its omission than hardware capabilities. Maybe same could be said about the UHD722.


Meridian owner since 1992
DSP5000 96/24, MC200, Prime & PSU, Focal Elear, Explorer 1 & 2, F80, 200/203 and various Sonos.
Top

Moderator:  Carl, Duncs, ncpl 
Who's Online
6 registered (Ian, Richard W, David Jackson, bxd, Lord Polbrook, Shaun), 46 Guests and 5 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newest Members
Hasmac, Shunt5, Alen65, MosfetManiac, BruceDuB
4666 Registered Users
Top Posters (30 Days)
CMB Integrations - Bruce 23
Jon Raines 22
VirusKiller 20
MrTechGuy 18
Not'arf 15
Top Posters
VirusKiller 12386
Fiddler 8667
ncpl 8463
Carl 7768
Ian 7521
Forum Stats
4,666 Registered Members
18 Forums
25,398 Topics
256,959 Posts

Most users ever online: 211 @ 2015-05-05 14:40
Meridian  |  Media Centre  |  Support  |  Firmware Release Notes  |  RSS Systems  |  RSS Streaming  |  RSS Restaurant