Google Search  |  Meridian Systems  |  Meridian Streaming  |  Restaurant  |  WiKi  |  Duncan's Meridian Info  |  Board Rules  |  Restaurant Rules
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#277629 - 2018-06-28 14:17 Best way to set up two subs
Registered: 2007-10-24
Posts: 225
Wayne Online content
Hitchhiker
Wayne Online content
Hitchhiker

Registered: 2007-10-24
Posts: 225
Loc: AB, Canada
Hello all,

I am soon to complete a new system setup which will utilize two DSWs. It is a 5.1 (or 5.2, if you like) arrangement. The fronts are DSP640 R and L and DSP520 Centre. The surrounds are DSP320s. I am using my 861v6 as the processor. The configuration program gives the option of a single LFE sub or stereo subs. The system is used 90% for TV and movies and 10% or less for music.

Can anyone recommend the best way to add two subs? I could run a single sub in the configuration and then daisy chain the second sub off that. This would definitely include the LFE, but the second sub would not be officially listed in the configuration. If not in the configuration, how do I calibrate and do room correction? Do I just treat the two as one sub? If I use the stereo configuration is the LFE included? It seems easier to setup, at least in the configuration program.

Any advice and past experience with similar situations is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Wayne


System 1: 861v6+ID40, UHD722, DSP640x2, DSP520C, DSP320x2, DSWx2, Sony XBR-100Z9D, Oppo UDP-203, Kaleidescape, AppleTV 4K
System 2: 808.3 upgraded to 808v6, MC200, DSP8000.2 with SE Upgrade
System 3: F80
Currently unused: DSP3200x4, DSP33x2, DSP33C, D1500, DSP420x2, G68ADV, G98DH, HD421, HD621
Top
#277636 - 2018-06-29 02:56 Re: Best way to set up two subs [Re: Wayne]
Registered: 2012-10-22
Posts: 689
Albert Offline
Paranoid android
Albert Offline
Paranoid android

Registered: 2012-10-22
Posts: 689
Loc: Shanghai, China
I would suggest 5.2 mode(front sub/rear sub)


HT: Audiocom Oppo203 signature with Vanity HD/HD621 861v8, DSP6Ks(LCR), DSP5200.1
Revel b112 b110 AntimodeX4 JVCx790
Top
#277637 - 2018-06-29 06:06 Re: Best way to set up two subs [Re: Wayne]
Registered: 2001-10-08
Posts: 99
thuety Offline
Hitchhiker
thuety Offline
Hitchhiker

Registered: 2001-10-08
Posts: 99
Loc: Switzerland
I also have two subs.
Mconfig seems very limited/unflexible in this case.
In the end I gave up and daisy chained them.


861v4, HD621, Oppo203, 5x DSP5500, 2x Genelec 7071 sub, Sony VPL-VW550ES, http://cellarcinema.info
Top
#277638 - 2018-06-29 06:45 Re: Best way to set up two subs [Re: thuety]
Registered: 2004-04-15
Posts: 12,386
VirusKiller Online content
Don't Panic
VirusKiller Online content
Don't Panic

Registered: 2004-04-15
Posts: 12,386
Loc: nr. Milton Keynes, UK
Strange: I never had a problem with the configuration program when I ran with stereo subs.


Roon Developer and ex-moderator of this Forum
I am #25 in the HH1 photo of fame.
Top
#277658 - 2018-06-29 15:39 Re: Best way to set up two subs [Re: Wayne]
Registered: 2017-02-04
Posts: 95
Carlton9000 Offline
Hitchhiker
Carlton9000 Offline
Hitchhiker

Registered: 2017-02-04
Posts: 95
Loc: Olive Branch, MS, USA
I found the stereo sub setup more to my liking with the 568 and 861.


01:AppletV4>HD621>DSP6K
02:AppletV4>HD621>861v3.5>(5)D5K(24/96)>(2) D2500(thanks Bruce&Mark)
03:AppletV4>DSP5.5k(18/48)
04:AppletV4>DSP5k(18/48)
05:Appletv3>BehringerSRC2496>Carver PM300>Solus DR-ir6
06:AppletV3>DBX VeNue360>Carver Cinema Grand>Carver ALS
In Reserve 568(2)+568.2MM
Top
#277662 - 2018-06-29 18:19 Re: Best way to set up two subs [Re: Carlton9000]
Registered: 2007-10-24
Posts: 225
Wayne Online content
Hitchhiker
Wayne Online content
Hitchhiker

Registered: 2007-10-24
Posts: 225
Loc: AB, Canada
Thanks, All.

I will give the stereo sub setup a try.

Wayne


System 1: 861v6+ID40, UHD722, DSP640x2, DSP520C, DSP320x2, DSWx2, Sony XBR-100Z9D, Oppo UDP-203, Kaleidescape, AppleTV 4K
System 2: 808.3 upgraded to 808v6, MC200, DSP8000.2 with SE Upgrade
System 3: F80
Currently unused: DSP3200x4, DSP33x2, DSP33C, D1500, DSP420x2, G68ADV, G98DH, HD421, HD621
Top
#277850 - 2018-07-10 10:09 Re: Best way to set up two subs [Re: Wayne]
Registered: 2011-08-22
Posts: 1,602
Not'arf Offline
Working on the ultimate question
Not'arf Offline
Working on the ultimate question

Registered: 2011-08-22
Posts: 1,602
Loc: Abruzzo, Italy
I'm running 2 subs and they are daisy-chained although I can't now remember how / why I arrived at that arrangement.


Audio: MC200, G61R SL, HD621, DSP5500, 5500HC, DSP3100. Subs: 2 x REL Gibraltar 2.
Video: JVC X70, Black Diamond Zero Edge screen 129"(2.35).

Meridian owner since 1998
Top

Moderator:  Carl, Duncs, ncpl 
Who's Online
10 registered (Jetblast, bxd, Ludwig, Bobfett, Kvarnbacken, MacTan), 56 Guests and 4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newest Members
Hasmac, Shunt5, Alen65, MosfetManiac, BruceDuB
4666 Registered Users
Top Posters (30 Days)
CMB Integrations - Bruce 23
Jon Raines 22
VirusKiller 20
MrTechGuy 19
Not'arf 15
Top Posters
VirusKiller 12386
Fiddler 8667
ncpl 8463
Carl 7768
Ian 7522
Forum Stats
4,666 Registered Members
18 Forums
25,398 Topics
256,962 Posts

Most users ever online: 211 @ 2015-05-05 14:40
Meridian  |  Media Centre  |  Support  |  Firmware Release Notes  |  RSS Systems  |  RSS Streaming  |  RSS Restaurant