Google Search  |  Meridian Systems  |  Meridian Streaming  |  Restaurant  |  WiKi  |  Duncan's Meridian Info  |  Board Rules  |  Restaurant Rules
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#277629 - 2018-06-28 14:17 Best way to set up two subs
Registered: 2007-10-24
Posts: 227
Wayne Offline
Hitchhiker
Wayne Offline
Hitchhiker

Registered: 2007-10-24
Posts: 227
Loc: AB, Canada
Hello all,

I am soon to complete a new system setup which will utilize two DSWs. It is a 5.1 (or 5.2, if you like) arrangement. The fronts are DSP640 R and L and DSP520 Centre. The surrounds are DSP320s. I am using my 861v6 as the processor. The configuration program gives the option of a single LFE sub or stereo subs. The system is used 90% for TV and movies and 10% or less for music.

Can anyone recommend the best way to add two subs? I could run a single sub in the configuration and then daisy chain the second sub off that. This would definitely include the LFE, but the second sub would not be officially listed in the configuration. If not in the configuration, how do I calibrate and do room correction? Do I just treat the two as one sub? If I use the stereo configuration is the LFE included? It seems easier to setup, at least in the configuration program.

Any advice and past experience with similar situations is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Wayne


System 1: 861v6+ID40, UHD722, DSP640x2, DSP520C, DSP320x2, DSWx2, Sony XBR-100Z9D, Oppo UDP-203, Kaleidescape, AppleTV 4K
System 2: 808.3 upgraded to 808v6, MC200, HD621, DSP8000.2 with SE Upgrade
System 3: F80
Currently unused: DSP3200x4, DSP33x2, DSP33C, D1500, DSP420x2, G68ADV, G98DH, HD421
Top
#277636 - 2018-06-29 02:56 Re: Best way to set up two subs [Re: Wayne]
Registered: 2012-10-22
Posts: 728
Albert Offline
Paranoid android
Albert Offline
Paranoid android

Registered: 2012-10-22
Posts: 728
Loc: Shanghai, China
I would suggest 5.2 mode(front sub/rear sub)


HT: Audiocom Oppo203 signature with Vanity HD/HD621 861v8, DSP7200SEup DSP5200SEVCup, DSP5200SE
Revel sub30*2 AntimodeX4 JVCx790
Lot of GIK panels
Top
#277637 - 2018-06-29 06:06 Re: Best way to set up two subs [Re: Wayne]
Registered: 2001-10-08
Posts: 100
thuety Offline
Hitchhiker
thuety Offline
Hitchhiker

Registered: 2001-10-08
Posts: 100
Loc: Switzerland
I also have two subs.
Mconfig seems very limited/unflexible in this case.
In the end I gave up and daisy chained them.


861v4, HD621, Oppo203, 5x DSP5500, 2x Genelec 7071 sub, Sony VPL-VW550ES, http://cellarcinema.info
Top
#277638 - 2018-06-29 06:45 Re: Best way to set up two subs [Re: thuety]
Registered: 2004-04-15
Posts: 12,467
VirusKiller Offline
Don't Panic
VirusKiller Offline
Don't Panic

Registered: 2004-04-15
Posts: 12,467
Loc: nr. Milton Keynes, UK
Strange: I never had a problem with the configuration program when I ran with stereo subs.


Roon Developer and ex-moderator of this Forum
I am #25 in the HH1 photo of fame.
Top
#277658 - 2018-06-29 15:39 Re: Best way to set up two subs [Re: Wayne]
Registered: 2017-02-04
Posts: 121
Carlton9000 Offline
Hitchhiker
Carlton9000 Offline
Hitchhiker

Registered: 2017-02-04
Posts: 121
Loc: Olive Branch, MS, USA
I found the stereo sub setup more to my liking with the 568 and 861.


$ystem 1: ATV4, HD621, 800v4, 861v4, DSP6K(24/96)LCR, DSP6K (18/48) Rear

$ystem 2: Control 10, 800D, 861v3, DSP5Kv2(24/96)LCR, DSP33 Rears 2xD2500(Thanks to Bruce & Mark)

$ystem 3: ATV4, 568.2MM, DSP5K(24/96)LCR

$ystem 4: ATV4, 568, 551, DSP5.5k(18/48)DSP5KC, P200Z Rears

$ystem 5: ATV4, 518, DBX VENU-360, Sunfire CG, Carver ALS
Top
#277662 - 2018-06-29 18:19 Re: Best way to set up two subs [Re: Carlton9000]
Registered: 2007-10-24
Posts: 227
Wayne Offline
Hitchhiker
Wayne Offline
Hitchhiker

Registered: 2007-10-24
Posts: 227
Loc: AB, Canada
Thanks, All.

I will give the stereo sub setup a try.

Wayne


System 1: 861v6+ID40, UHD722, DSP640x2, DSP520C, DSP320x2, DSWx2, Sony XBR-100Z9D, Oppo UDP-203, Kaleidescape, AppleTV 4K
System 2: 808.3 upgraded to 808v6, MC200, HD621, DSP8000.2 with SE Upgrade
System 3: F80
Currently unused: DSP3200x4, DSP33x2, DSP33C, D1500, DSP420x2, G68ADV, G98DH, HD421
Top
#277850 - 2018-07-10 10:09 Re: Best way to set up two subs [Re: Wayne]
Registered: 2011-08-22
Posts: 1,623
Not'arf Offline
Working on the ultimate question
Not'arf Offline
Working on the ultimate question

Registered: 2011-08-22
Posts: 1,623
Loc: Abruzzo, Italy
I'm running 2 subs and they are daisy-chained although I can't now remember how / why I arrived at that arrangement.


Audio: MC200, G61R SL, HD621, DSP5500, 5500HC, DSP3100. Subs: 2 x REL Gibraltar 2.
Video: JVC X70, Black Diamond Zero Edge screen 129"(2.35).

Meridian owner since 1998
Top

Moderator:  Carl, Duncs, ncpl 
Who's Online
3 registered (Hector, Balder, Bee), 44 Guests and 4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newest Members
Jag, Lucky, JonnyBlobby, Goatiebaby, Mimesis
4723 Registered Users
Top Posters (30 Days)
CMB Integrations - Bruce 69
spinaltap 53
3dit0r 50
Gianni 32
Syles 32
Top Posters
VirusKiller 12467
Fiddler 8667
ncpl 8488
Carl 7849
Ian 7643
Forum Stats
4,723 Registered Members
18 Forums
25,922 Topics
260,846 Posts

Most users ever online: 211 @ 2015-05-05 14:40
Meridian  |  Media Centre  |  Support  |  Firmware Release Notes  |  RSS Systems  |  RSS Streaming  |  RSS Restaurant