Google Search  |  Meridian Systems  |  Meridian Streaming  |  Restaurant  |  WiKi  |  Duncan's Meridian Info  |  Board Rules  |  Restaurant Rules
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#269754 - 2017-11-12 12:05 AC200 USB
Registered: 2003-10-04
Posts: 1,987
spinaltap Offline
Knows where his towel is
spinaltap Offline
Knows where his towel is

Registered: 2003-10-04
Posts: 1,987
Loc: Bournville, UK
The AC200 has 2x USB ports. One is for maintenance.

The spec sheet describes the second USB thus:
Quote:
A computer, using a USB cable terminated in a Type B plug, to use the AC200 as an external sound card’

The user manual states:
Quote:
“If your PC provides a USB output: Connect the USB output to the Audio Core 200 USB input, using a USB cable terminated in a Type B plug. Select the USB input on the Audio Core 200”.

Currently, my SBT (EDO) connects to my Meridian Director via USB (then to my G95 via phono).

Am I correct in believing that I simply connect my SBT to the AC200 via USB alone?


My Mac can go all the way to XI - Mac user since 1988.
Top
#269760 - 2017-11-12 17:16 Re: AC200 USB [Re: spinaltap]
Registered: 2004-08-07
Posts: 7,458
Ian Offline
President of the Imperial Galactic Government
Ian Offline
President of the Imperial Galactic Government

Registered: 2004-08-07
Posts: 7,458
Loc: Surrey, England, UK
Not an answer to your question but Iirc that AC200 USB audio is the older synchronous USB audio that will not achieve the same quality as newer/current asynchronous mode. Iirc is is also limited in bit rate to 44.1/48k


Meridian owner since 1992
DSP5000 96/24, MC200, Prime & PSU, Focal Elear, Explorer 1 & 2, F80, 200/203 and various Sonos.
Top
#269761 - 2017-11-12 17:33 Re: AC200 USB [Re: Ian]
Registered: 2004-12-09
Posts: 6,244
ChrisLayerUK Offline
President of the Imperial Galactic Government
ChrisLayerUK Offline
President of the Imperial Galactic Government

Registered: 2004-12-09
Posts: 6,244
Loc: Colchester, Essex, UK
I just gleaned this from the data sheet.
Quote:
Naturally, sound quality available from differing sources is subject to the design and capabilities of those products. However, all other things being equal, there is a “pecking order” for potential sound quality. Where available, it is best to use the Speakerlink connection. Next best is digital-coaxial. Optical and USB are a slight step down from this and Analogue connections should be used where they are the only option. Analogue should also be used if the digital outputs available are actually derived from an analogue signal within the source product.


No 18 in the Hall of fame smile I have simple tastes; I am content to settle for the best: GIK monster bass panels, rear wall.
MC200 500GB, QNAP TVS 471i3. Roon into 2 MS200's. Explorer 2. Bluesound Pulse 2 and Mini. 596 v1.89.2, 518, G61R, M60.2 Rosewood, M33C, M33 Rears, M1500 Sub, Foxsat HD, Sony Blu Ray, Pioneer 5090, 2 Chromecast's for LRB videos.
Top
#269789 - 2017-11-13 15:09 Re: AC200 USB [Re: ChrisLayerUK]
Registered: 2009-03-21
Posts: 1,325
MJT5282 Offline
Working on the ultimate question
MJT5282 Offline
Working on the ultimate question

Registered: 2009-03-21
Posts: 1,325
Loc: Fairfield County, CT, USA
The Mac USB installation guide shows configuring the Mac to use 192 kHz for the USB audio output ... I will test mine a little later with my RasPi3 to check.


Primary: 818v3+ID41, DSP8000SE, M SpeakerLink cabling, Sonos+96kHz Cullen, M Prime Headphone Amp, Senn HD700
HT: 861v8+ID41, HD621, DSP3300, DSP M6x4, DSW, STP Cat6 cabling,
Vac. Home: 861v4+ID40, HD621, 4xDSP3100, DSP3100HC
MDMS:NUC/ROCK+Freenas 11.1 ZFS file server
Top
#269920 - 2017-11-16 07:55 Re: AC200 USB [Re: MJT5282]
Registered: 2009-09-13
Posts: 5,364
Ludwig Offline
President of the Imperial Galactic Government
Ludwig Offline
President of the Imperial Galactic Government

Registered: 2009-09-13
Posts: 5,364
Loc: Europe
Originally Posted By MJT5282
The Mac USB installation guide shows configuring the Mac to use 192 kHz for the USB audio output
That's very interesting. If true, it might suggest they upgraded the USB input silently. Would have been useful to tell people, it might have made a different to people (including me) who didn't buy one because of this apparent lack.

Does 192 input mean that Asynchronous Mode would by default be possible? Or could it still not be?


Ex-moderator
Sitting room: 818v3, 8kSE
Office: 818v3, Stax SRM-T1, Stax SR404LE
TV room: HD621, 518, D33
Kitchen: MS200, Genelec 6010 actives
Server: Roon/NUC/Touchscreen

Oldest audio file: 1889 Edison cylinder
Top
#270174 - 2017-11-24 12:23 Re: AC200 USB [Re: Ludwig]
Registered: 2007-02-26
Posts: 12
Simon Moore Offline
Harmless
Simon Moore Offline
Harmless

Registered: 2007-02-26
Posts: 12
Loc: Southampton
I just recently obtained an AC200 + DSP3200, and tried setting it up on my Mac today. I can confirm the AC200 USB input is limited to 48/16, at least on firmware v1.04.

The link on the Meridian AC200 page points to the MAC USB Setup Instructions, but if you look very closely, the image for step 4 "Select the Output tab" shows the device is actually a Meridian USB Explorer.

Anyone know if there is newer firmware for an AC200? If not I may have one to sell...


simon AT snmoore net
Top
#270192 - 2017-11-24 19:24 Re: AC200 USB [Re: Simon Moore]
Registered: 2009-10-25
Posts: 55
Carrart Offline
Mostly harmless
Carrart Offline
Mostly harmless

Registered: 2009-10-25
Posts: 55
Loc: London, UK
Mine is v1.1


MC200, MS200, AC200, DSP3200
F80
Top

Moderator:  Carl, Duncs, ncpl 
Who's Online
2 registered (Albert, Njal), 68 Guests and 4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newest Members
YBA_US, Tybot, COTJ, Hualon, ChalkyFingers
4636 Registered Users
Top Posters (30 Days)
3dit0r 100
Ratbert 73
CMB Integrations - Bruce 59
Tarik 38
Jazzmaniac1954 29
Top Posters
VirusKiller 12325
Fiddler 8659
ncpl 8441
Carl 7702
Ian 7458
Forum Stats
4,636 Registered Members
17 Forums
24,910 Topics
254,497 Posts

Most users ever online: 211 @ 2015-05-05 14:40
Meridian  |  Media Centre  |  Support  |  Firmware Release Notes  |  RSS Systems  |  RSS Streaming  |  RSS Restaurant