Google Search  |  Meridian Systems  |  Meridian Streaming  |  Restaurant  |  WiKi  |  Duncan's Meridian Info  |  Board Rules  |  Restaurant Rules
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#274112 - 2018-03-11 12:15 My experiences with wired / wireless Roon / Sooloos / Foobar USB feeds to Prime
Simon Mirren Offline
Paranoid android
Simon Mirren Offline
Paranoid android

Loc: York, UK
Not sure of the best place to post but settled on here...

Thanks in no small part to Ratbert’s kind advice I have spent the last week testing different methods of delivering my local FLAC and cloud Tidal music collection to my Prime HA and wanted to share my findings. I’ve tried to prepare a logical write up but I’m no pro and was comparing a lot so I hope you find it useful!

General Setup

Moving my setup from the office (actually my living room) to the movie room to have everything in one place with fully wired options I was able to try:

1. Roon / Foobar running as bit-perfect core / endpoint on Surface Pro 2017 i5 / 8GB / 256 SSD feeding Prime USB input via Wireworld Chroma USB cable. Store = WD MyCloud NAS. I also tried using as another PC as a Roon endpoint to separate core and source responsibilities but quickly found this made no difference (they were both PCs after all so this was not unexpected).

2. ControlPC running as a non bit-perfect endpoint from my Surface

3. Roon running as core. MS600 endpoint.

4. Sooloos: MD600 core/store feeding MS600 endpoint feeding Prime analogue inputs via monster interconnects.

Prime HA set to ASP1 except when specified.

Some sample tracks / albums (no judging please 😊):

Lorde – Royals MQA 24 /192 from Tidal
Ed Sheeran - % Album MQA 24 / 44 from Tidal
Sarah McLachlan – Angel 16 /44 FLAC from NAS
Deadmau5 – Ghosts ‘N Stuff 16 / 44 FLAC from NAS
Coldplay – X&Y Album 16 /44 FLAC from NAS
Camila Cabello – Camila Album 16 / 44 FLAC fromNAS

Conclusion and Surprises