Roon 1.6 released

Posted by: Ratbert

Roon 1.6 released - 2019-01-22 12:21

Hi All

Significant Roon update released today well worth having a read of the Roon Release Notes.

Something to consider is that I hear quite a lot of noise that the Roon lifetime licence may not be available for much longer? This is just my feeling based on what I hear, I have no inside knowledge. This may not be an issue for you but if you are considering moving from Sooloos to Roon it would be a shame to miss out?

Russ
Posted by: VirusKiller

Re: Roon 1.6 released - 2019-01-22 15:18

Not sure where that info comes from Russ. It's always possible that we will choose to remove the lifetime license, but this was posted by Danny 11 days ago:

Originally Posted By Danny Dulai, Roon COO
It comes up every 3 months of whether we should kill it. But it never goes anywhere… don’t know what the future holds here. I think we are due for another conversation at the end of the month smile

Link
Posted by: Gerard

Re: Roon 1.6 released - 2019-01-22 21:18

It is a bit like crying wolf someday in the future it will happen when Roon has grown enough to be sustained by a renewable subscription format.

Given the comparative pricing between yearly and lifetime it is a no brainer, so for those sitting on the fence my advice get it while you can.

Gerard.
Posted by: Kswanson

Re: Roon 1.6 released - 2019-01-22 22:33

Agreed. I upgraded a couple of months ago.

Ken
Posted by: 3dit0r

Re: Roon 1.6 released - 2019-01-22 23:45

First of all thanks to all the Roon developers for another release - clearly a lot of hard work in this one.

Secondly, the comment above has reminded me I meant to ask what happens if you want to move from a yearly to lifetime sub? E.g., if you just renewed a yearly sub, do you get the remainder of that off if you upgrade to a yearly, or is it best to wait until your next subscription renewal month?
Posted by: Mr Meridian

Re: Roon 1.6 released - 2019-01-22 23:52