DSP5200 with no Controller

Posted by: Gbickle

DSP5200 with no Controller - 2019-08-14 00:15

Hi all

I recently acquired a Set of DSP5200s, matching centre and remote control, and a G92 Controller which doesnt turn on.

Being a complete novice to Meridian I'm wondering if I can just plug a device with a digital output straight into the input 1 (via rca cable) on the left master speaker. Then just run another rca from the rca digital output to the digital input 1 of the right speaker.

I can turn on the speakers by pressing aux or cd etc on the remote but not sure how to change anything else with it. Like how do the speakers know to use the rca digital input that im outputting?

thanks
Posted by: Nstzya

Re: DSP5200 with no Controller - 2019-08-14 02:48

I’d suggest a little time with the manual for the 5200’s and/or the controller. Meridian system is not plug and play and does require proper hookups, setup, and understanding. You can do what you want to do.

The manuals can be found in Duncan’s Meridian Info link at the top of the page. Stay patient and pay strict attention to manual. The Meridian universe can get quite complex for the novice, but there are phenomenal resource people on here.

Come back with questions. Good luck!
Posted by: ncpl

Re: DSP5200 with no Controller - 2019-08-14 07:28

What you want to do is a standard setup. As above, check the manual and post back any questions you have. It is actually a very simple setup and should work well.
Posted by: VirusKiller

Re: DSP5200 with no Controller - 2019-08-14 07:39

Originally Posted By ncpl
What you want to do is a standard setup.
Though use of the centre does require a Meridian processor.
Posted by: Gbickle

Re: DSP5200 with no Controller - 2019-08-14 09:35

Yes it was easier than I thought. I just connected RCA cable from my source to one speaker... then another one from the digital output to the input on the second speaker. Works fine and volume control on remote controls both speakers.

I'll do the proper recommended cabling when I fix the G92, but for now this is great seems fine.

I guess the centre channel is purely for home theatre 5.1 use (nobody would use it in a stereo system?).
Posted by: VirusKiller

Re: DSP5200 with no Controller - 2019-08-14 09:53

Originally Posted By Gbickle
I guess the centre channel is purely for home theatre 5.1 use (nobody would use it in a stereo system?).
Actually, Meridian's implementation of the Trifield algorithm is a highly regarded means of listening with three speakers up front (rears optional). That said, although some people have a 3x vertical front setup for music listening, most typically use Trifield in the context of a home theatre system with a horizontal centre.

Also, there's been a noticeable return on this forum to using just a stereo pair (vs. a full multi-channel system). I suspect that, if Meridian processors supported multi-channel MQA, this change might not have happened to its apparent extent.
Posted by: Ian

Re: DSP5200 with no Controller - 2019-08-14 12:15

Quickly skimming, I see no mention of comms. Ideally, left and right needed to be connected comms wise to integrate their functionality otherwise they act as two independent speakers.

The 5200's have 5 pin DIN sockets or BNC connectors. Initially the speakers will have been shipped with M(aster) and S(lave) cables which were audio and comms combined. You want slave cable, DIN out on master and DIN in on slave. Alternatively, a BNC cable will do the same for comms only, but is not so common.
Posted by: Gbickle

Re: DSP5200 with no Controller - 2019-08-18 04:53

So I can just use a BNC from the controller to master and also from master to slave speaker?
The manual mentions DIN Slave being a different cable than DIN Master but if I use BNC instead of DIN for both I can just forget about the DIN connections?

Posted by: Carl

Re: DSP5200 with no Controller - 2019-08-18 09:51

Hi,

The brief answer is yes.

The slightly longer is still yes, but some have reported operation issues when combining BNC and DIN based comms together on pre G series kit).

That said, in the past, I've used Meridian supplied DIN to BNC adaptors to connect 800v4 to 8000SL without any issues.

Regards,
Carl
Posted by: Gbickle

Re: DSP5200 with no Controller - 2019-08-18 11:21

But what about only using BNC cabling for comms?. So BNC comms output on the G92 to BNC comms input on the Master. Then BNC comms output From the Master to BNC comms input on the Slave. (So not using DIN at all).
Posted by: Carl

Re: DSP5200 with no Controller - 2019-08-18 15:55

Hi, this is summary ...
Originally Posted By Carl
yes

Originally Posted By Carl
is still yes
the rest was just background information so you had a complete picture going forwards.

Regards,
Carl
Posted by: Gbickle

Re: DSP5200 with no Controller - 2019-08-18 23:44

Thanks. I have a much better understanding of the system now.

One more question...

To get the DSP5200HC speaker in the chain. I assume that could be done purely with BNC but would this be an issue as it means having 2x Master speakers in the chain and maybe this is a situation where one needs to use DIN cabling so the Controller can communicate properly?
Posted by: Bee

Re: DSP5200 with no Controller - 2019-08-19 04:59

You should only ever have one master speaker in a system.
Posted by: Carl

Re: DSP5200 with no Controller - 2019-08-19 09:36

Adding to Bee’s reply ... he is correct only ever have one MASTER speaker... all the others need to be TYPED and then configured to suit.

It’s all described in the DSP User Guide ... but admittedly it’s in “Meridian Speak” so does need to be read and re-read quite a few times to get a full understanding (we’ve all been there).

BTW with a left, centre, right DSP setup most people chose the centre to be the MASTER with all the others configured as SLAVES.

One extra tip ... once all TYPED, configured and cabled up ... put the system into standby ... point the MSR at the G92 and press the clear button (note the displays, G92 should report as Controller and the MASTER DSP should report as non-con).

Regards,
Carl