Google Search  |  Meridian Systems  |  Meridian Streaming  |  Restaurant  |  WiKi  |  Duncan's Meridian Info  |  Board Rules  |  Restaurant Rules
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#268927 - 2017-10-18 00:21 Change CMOS battery in MC200
Registered: 2012-04-10
Posts: 85
Matsaly Offline
Hitchhiker
Matsaly Offline
Hitchhiker

Registered: 2012-04-10
Posts: 85
Loc: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Greetings,

I glanced at another post wherein it was suggested the one periodically change the CMOS battery on the Sooloos motherboard. My MC200 (500GB version) is about 6 years old. Is it recommended to proactively change the battery every so often or wait until there is some problem?

Has anyone changed the battery and do you have any photos/guidance on how to do so. I'd rather not open the MC200 and muck about without knowing what to look for and what internal wires/connections must be disconnected to effectuate the battery change.


MC200, Aqua La Scala DAC, Conrad Johnson CT5 pre/LP70S amp, Verity Audio Parsifal Ovation speakers.
Shunyata Hydra power conditioner, Asst. Shunyata, Nordost, & Siltech cables.
Top
#269805 - 2017-11-14 00:05 Re: Change CMOS battery in MC200 [Re: Matsaly]
Registered: 2012-04-10
Posts: 85
Matsaly Offline
Hitchhiker
Matsaly Offline
Hitchhiker

Registered: 2012-04-10
Posts: 85
Loc: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Anyone have any experience with this?


MC200, Aqua La Scala DAC, Conrad Johnson CT5 pre/LP70S amp, Verity Audio Parsifal Ovation speakers.
Shunyata Hydra power conditioner, Asst. Shunyata, Nordost, & Siltech cables.
Top
#269812 - 2017-11-14 07:05 Re: Change CMOS battery in MC200 [Re: Matsaly]
Registered: 2004-08-07
Posts: 7,394
Ian Offline
President of the Imperial Galactic Government
Ian Offline
President of the Imperial Galactic Government

Registered: 2004-08-07
Posts: 7,394
Loc: Surrey, England, UK
I don't have any experience with changing the battery on the MC200 specifically but have changed them on several other PCs

The MC200 is basically a headless PC and, apart from the large number of screws, it has good access so it should be quite straight forward - I have in the past changed HDD and memory modules and takes under 15 minutes.

My only concern would be what state it will be in after battery is disconnected as there is no keyboard/display/beep to signify a bios reconfiguration. But I probably would have gone through same process when I changed my memory cards - later removed as they made no difference and one module was faulty.

To get access, iirc you need a small Torx driver, remove the feet then with a little force, try and slide one of the sides off. Iirc that both will slide off so, for the inexperienced, its pot luck whether you get the right one first time, hence my estimate of 15 minutes for the job. Its a smooth action to slide but does require a bit of a push. If it doesn't move then try to slide in different direction but off top of my head, they slide towards the bottom hence why you need to remove the feet.

Once side is off, there are then many Torx screws to remove, then you will see either the top side or bottom side of motherboard. I think you can actually peek into the case and see a few internal components to give a clue to what side is what.

Reassembly is simply the reverse. Pretty straight forward.


Meridian owner since 1992
DSP5000 96/24, MC200, Prime & PSU, Focal Elear, Explorer 1 & 2, F80, 200/203 and various Sonos.
Top
#269828 - 2017-11-14 14:13 Re: Change CMOS battery in MC200 [Re: Ian]
Registered: 2004-01-12
Posts: 2,272
Crion Offline
Senior Shouting Officer
Crion Offline
Senior Shouting Officer

Registered: 2004-01-12
Posts: 2,272
Loc: Stockholm, Sweden
There are also pictures of the MC200 internals that helps you understand what to expect when opening the case.


Future ID80 with video owner!
DSP8000SE, DSP7200SEHC, DSP5200SE sides, DSP7200SE rears, 861v8/ID41, MC200, Sim2 HT380 T2 1080P, Stewart Cinecurve 2.35:1, XEIT CM-5E Anamorphic lens, HDI Dune BD Prime 3.0 with Wireworld Platinum HDMI -> HD621 -> Audioquest Diamond RJ45. Shunyata Sigma Digital@861v8.
Top
#269833 - 2017-11-14 14:53 Re: Change CMOS battery in MC200 [Re: Crion]
Registered: 2010-12-09
Posts: 3,205
Ratbert Online sleepy
Hooloovoo
Ratbert Online sleepy
Hooloovoo

Registered: 2010-12-09
Posts: 3,205
Loc: Europe


.
Top
#269834 - 2017-11-14 15:17 Re: Change CMOS battery in MC200 [Re: Matsaly]
Registered: 2000-11-01
Posts: 2,580
RobertW Offline
Robert.W Great Green Arkleseizure
RobertW Offline
Robert.W
Great Green Arkleseizure

Registered: 2000-11-01
Posts: 2,580
Loc: Austria, Europe
What's the status now?


861v6+ID40/800v3/3x8k.2/3x5k5s smile /2x5kC/ 218/Explorer/TT-ELP/Trinnov Amethyst
__HB-strip, Ayon/HB/Shunyata/Dream State Audio/Miltzow -- power cables,
__Ayon/Jungson/Miltzow --analog, Miltzow-- digital,
__WMA/Finalizer- , iPad air, Macbook-pro.
Reviver
Top
#269847 - 2017-11-14 16:46 Re: Change CMOS battery in MC200 [Re: RobertW]
Registered: 2012-04-10
Posts: 85
Matsaly Offline
Hitchhiker
Matsaly Offline
Hitchhiker

Registered: 2012-04-10
Posts: 85
Loc: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
I think you are asking about the operational status of my MC200?

The unit works perfectly, I am just trying to figure out if it's best to proactively change the CMOS battery every few years.


MC200, Aqua La Scala DAC, Conrad Johnson CT5 pre/LP70S amp, Verity Audio Parsifal Ovation speakers.
Shunyata Hydra power conditioner, Asst. Shunyata, Nordost, & Siltech cables.
Top
#269853 - 2017-11-14 17:28 Re: Change CMOS battery in MC200 [Re: Matsaly]
Registered: 2000-11-01
Posts: 2,580
RobertW Offline
Robert.W Great Green Arkleseizure
RobertW Offline
Robert.W
Great Green Arkleseizure

Registered: 2000-11-01
Posts: 2,580
Loc: Austria, Europe
Sorry I thought it was an actual problem. Think positive, then it will never happen.


861v6+ID40/800v3/3x8k.2/3x5k5s smile /2x5kC/ 218/Explorer/TT-ELP/Trinnov Amethyst
__HB-strip, Ayon/HB/Shunyata/Dream State Audio/Miltzow -- power cables,
__Ayon/Jungson/Miltzow --analog, Miltzow-- digital,
__WMA/Finalizer- , iPad air, Macbook-pro.
Reviver
Top
#269899 - 2017-11-15 16:58 Re: Change CMOS battery in MC200 [Re: RobertW]
Registered: 2012-04-10
Posts: 85
Matsaly Offline
Hitchhiker
Matsaly Offline
Hitchhiker

Registered: 2012-04-10
Posts: 85
Loc: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Kudos to Bruce for reaching out to me (PM) with lots of helpful information. He is an invaluable asset to the community.


I'll likely attempt to change the battery after the holidays when I have some free time.

Thanks to everyone for their help and support in this hobby.


MC200, Aqua La Scala DAC, Conrad Johnson CT5 pre/LP70S amp, Verity Audio Parsifal Ovation speakers.
Shunyata Hydra power conditioner, Asst. Shunyata, Nordost, & Siltech cables.
Top
#269904 - 2017-11-15 20:00 Re: Change CMOS battery in MC200 [Re: Matsaly]
Registered: 2014-01-22
Posts: 33
MattP Offline
Harmless
MattP Offline
Harmless

Registered: 2014-01-22
Posts: 33
Loc: London, UK
As this will likely be a help to many people - why does it have to be sent in PM and not posted publicly?


#1 - MC200 1TB, G91DH DAB, DSP5200, DSP5200HC
#2 - Explorer2, UE900
Top
#269907 - 2017-11-15 21:08 Re: Change CMOS battery in MC200 [Re: MattP]
Registered: 2010-12-09
Posts: 3,205
Ratbert Online sleepy
Hooloovoo
Ratbert Online sleepy
Hooloovoo

Registered: 2010-12-09
Posts: 3,205
Loc: Europe
Or added to the Wiki?


.
Top

Moderator:  Carl, Duncs, ncpl 
Who's Online
10 registered (Carlton9000, MI', AudioImages - Rick, ChrisLayerUK, Maldo, bxd), 17 Guests and 2 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newest Members
BodgerBen, Southall1998, Nate, Sting, SaxMan
4590 Registered Users
Top Posters (30 Days)
CMB Integrations - Bruce 48
Tarik 47
Ratbert 39
Nstzya 35
Carl 35
Top Posters
VirusKiller 12275
Fiddler 8668
ncpl 8393
Carl 7609
Ian 7394
Forum Stats
4,590 Registered Members
17 Forums
24,477 Topics
251,418 Posts

Most users ever online: 211 @ 2015-05-05 14:40
Meridian  |  Media Centre  |  Support  |  Firmware Release Notes  |  RSS Systems  |  RSS Streaming  |  RSS Restaurant